Jeff Rice Successfully Defends MAAGCS Annual Championship

  • 31 Oct 2018 11:07 AM
    Message # 6882510
    Tyler Eastham (Administrator)

    It was chilly and uncharacteristically windy at Waverly Woods GC for the 2018 MAAGCS Annual Championship. MAAGCS President and host Superintendent, Mike Bostian had the course in excellent condition with firm fairways and greens that were rolling quick and true. Over 50 members including superintendents, assistants, vendors, and educators battled for the chance to earn a victory and be crowned the Annual Champion.

    Winning the Superintendent Division for the second year in a row was Jeff Rice of Oak Creek Golf Club. He posted a gross score of 79 which was enough for a four shot victory over John Anderes of Queenstown Harbor. John captured the win in the net competition with a 74 after a scorecard playoff with Ed Gasper, he also posted a 74.

    In the Open Division, Dr. Paul Giordano of Bayer won with a gross score of 81, just a one stroke ahead of second place finisher Andrew Harrison of Pocono Turf. Mark Merrick of Genesis Turfgrass improved from a 2nd place net finish last year to take home 1st place net in the Open Division. After a scorecard playoff Mark’s 71 held up against Eric Snelsire of Bayer and Tim Davisson of Davisson Golf, Inc, both coming in with a 71.

    A special thank you goes out to Mike Bostian and his staff, the entire Waverly Woods GC staff, event sponsors Nufarm, Pocono Turf, Davisson Golf, Corteva Agriscience, Harrell’s, SiteOne Landscape Supply, Syngenta, Eagle Pump Systems, Noble Turf, Nutrien, Rain Bird and our year-long partners for supporting the event!


    Superintendent Division

    Champion - Jeff Rice 79
    1st Net – John Anderes 74

    Open Division

    Champion – Dr. Paul Giordano 81
    1st Net - Mark Merrick 71

    Contest Winners

    #5 – Brendon Leeming 7' 7"
    #7 – Todd Cowing 14' 11"
    #13 – Dr. Paul Giordano 3' 5"
    #15 – Kevin Smith 3' 4"

    Long Drive
    #9 – Kevin Monaco

    Click Images to Enlarge

    Mike Bostian, Jeff Rice, Joe Haskins

    Last modified: 31 Oct 2018 11:09 AM | Tyler Eastham (Administrator)

© Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents 888-643-8873

Web Site Designed by: Ryan Kraushofer

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software